A Man with a Flashlight


Garth Hattan – Susan Aldous responds
April 6, 2007, 1:00 pm
Filed under: Crime and Punishment, Undiscovered writers

In response to my post on the writer Garth Hattan, an unexpected pleasure – a response from Susan Aldous, the volunteer who befriended Garth in prison and married him. And divorced, it turns out. Life is messy, no?

Yes, you are right, Garth is an incredibly talented man who can write up a storm about the storm and the peace that can be found within it.
To update you: Garth was released from the LA dentention center after three months from the day he returned to the USA, we got married, lived the fairytale and then divorced when he went back to old ways and unfortunately reoffended. Prison awaits and perhaps more chapters and let’s hope that in so doing, he will find eventual freedom from his past and the things that haunt him.
In the meanwhile, I am releasing my own book this month, The Angel of Bangkwang Prison, published by Maverick House.
Cheers,
Susan.

It’s a sad surprise – I wouldn’t have thought Hattan would be tempt fate again after being taught such a hard lesson. I stand by my judgement on his writing, which is well worth reading.

Susan’s organization One Life at a Time is here. Her book is here.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Met Garth when we were 12… that was 30 years ago. Please call, 831.324.0125

Comment by Cynthia Bottero

Here we go again…Garth is , well, let’s see, does anyone out there REALLY F—ING CARE????? band camp. blah, blah, blah…I have his mailing address etc. Scratch calling me, hate the phone. E-mail me, well, but if you really care about Garth, ok. Or better yet, find him on your own.

Comment by Cynthia Bottero

I met “the angel” at the prison while she was engaged to Garth. I had Susan’s address and in the last 8 years have misplaced it but would love to white her to compliment her on her wonderful book. I’m in Bangkok now for 4 more days and would even more love to see her again. Anyone know how I can contact her? you can write me at chinatownbkk@Yahoo.com
Thanks!

Comment by James Burns

G.H. – IF OR WHEN YOU GET OUT, DO NOT GO ANYWHERE EVEN REMOTELY NEAR C.B.’s HOUSE. YOU ARE NOT WELCOME THERE. EVER. GOT IT?
I WANT YOU TO KNOW THAT YOU WILL NEVER WALK THROUGH HER DOOR AGAIN. I PROMISE.

YOUR WRECKAGE IS ONLY NOW, BEING REPAIRED… J.M.

Comment by JOHNNY M

My how a few years turns everything around…

Comment by Cynthia Bottero

Fast forward – Garth is due to be released December 12, 2011 from yet another 4 year stretch.

Comment by Cynthia Bottero

People make mistakes. People make poor choices. We are only human after all, right? Time passes. We forget. We move on.
I believe there are defining moments in our lives. My hope is that we recognize them when they happen..The glass IS half full, not half empty. Having one’s life opened up for others to see and consequently judge is an unbelievably painful and uncomfortable experience. But maybe, just maybe it can serve to help us look inward to examine our behavior and how it affects those who love us.
Garth Hattan and the way he has dealt with the negative experiences of incarceration is an inspiration. I In my opinion, it’s not so much the problems we encounter in our lives, self-inflicted or otherwise, it’s how we handle the aftermath and use it in a positive way to enhance what is truly a bright future.
Rock on Garth…Everything will always be okay!

Comment by Cynthia Bottero




Leave a Reply

